RSS Feed

Scrap booking with kids

Last Christmas, my goddaughter got a scrapbook from her aunt. Ever since then, she has been bugging me to help her in creating her own. It all started for her fourth birthday when I made one for her from birth until then. Right before her 5th birthday, she said to me – you know what I want? A book of pictures – of me! I was so happy. She actually wanted another scrapbook. And so began her obsession. Now, she wanted to make one of her own.

After months of asking, we finally had time today to work on it. I helped her with some of it (spelling, inking stamps, gluing pictures down, etc), but she did most of it on her own. She was so proud of each and every page that we worked on.

Scrap booking is a great idea for kids. It keeps them busy for hours (especially if they help pick out the pictures and help with a lot of the work!) A couple of things that I learned: Kids don’t care about the elaborate embellishments that we put on our pages. A few stickers and stamps and they are good to go. My goddaughter loved stamping. I let her pick out whatever stamps she wanted to go with whatever pictures she chose. She had a blast inking the stamps and deciding where everything went on the page.

Another tip when making a scrapbook with kids – choose the smaller 8×8 books. Kids like to color, stamp and draw on every inch of paper. If I would have let her, my goddaughter would have covered the whole first page with stamps. To keep the project moving, a smaller book helps.

Let the kids write. While their handwriting isn’t perfect, it makes the book theirs. For a type A person like me, it was not that easy! I had to remember it was her book, not mine, and if she wanted to have a yellow bat or put a bathing suit sticker on a Halloween picture, she could. I also let her decide what she wanted to write on each page – the only thing I did was tell her how to spell what she decided on.

Lastly, keep the amount of choices of materials simple. I gave her a bunch of colors of ink or markers to choose from, but I didn’t use any Cricut cartridges or embossing materials. I could have, but I wanted her to do as much of the book as possible.

Here are the results from our (incomplete) project. Hopefully it won’t take almost a year to finish it!


About scrapsecrets

Fairly new to scrapbooking and learning as I go. I wanted to share some of my tips with others who may be new to scrapbooking or card making. Feel free to comment or make suggestions on any of my work or ideas - I love feedback! Especially if it's about a new product I should try - I love getting new material! Check out my other blog thecreativeconsultant.wordpress.com for tips on party planning, ideas for party themes and how to stretch your party budget! *I do not get paid to endorse any of the products and/or retailers I talk about in my blog.*

Leave a Reply

